Uncategorized

Consider Pitching A “Virtual Startup” To Your Boss

TechCrunch

Editor’s note: Steve Sokol is the product lead for Respoke, a WebRTC platform as a service that allows web and mobile developers to add live voice, video, text and data features to websites or apps.

I have been part of several of startups, and I love the energy, excitement and sense of risk that comes with launching into uncharted waters. My last startup was acquired in 2007, and I’ve been working at the acquirer ever since. A bit over two years ago, I got the itch to do something entrepreneurial again.

When I talked with my boss about quitting to build a new business in the nascent WebRTC/web communications space, he made me an offer I couldn’t refuse. And that’s how I landed in my current position: For two years, I’ve had the unique opportunity to work as a co-founder at a virtual startup, housed under the corporate umbrella…

View original post 1,677 more words

Standard