Uncategorized

Startup Lessons From My Screenwriter Life, Part 2: Movie Sets

TechCrunch

Editor’s note:Dave McLaughlin is CEO and co-founder of Vsnap

This is the second post in a two-part series on the lessons I learned as a filmmaker that have value in my life as a startup founder and CEO at Vsnap. In the first post, I covered stuff that comes up before you go into production. In this post, I will discuss how a few of my lessons learned on sets apply to startup life.

Fast Decisions in a Live Environment

Unless you’re making some crazy CGI blockbuster, the most expensive phase of filmmaking is when you’re on set. Naturally, pressure goes up. Being effective in this environment is different from being effective at an early-days whiteboard session. A few of my lessons learned on sets apply to startup life.

First, be a director not a selector. In other words, the team is not looking for you to pick…

View original post 1,481 more words

Standard